Ruth Dudley Edwards
go to the home page
see what Ruth is up to links to all Ruth's non-fiction publications links to all Ruth's crime fictions titles links to most of Ruth's journalist over the last four years
 ...RUTH'S FAVOURITE COMPLIMENT
photo of Ruth Dudley Edwards, author and journalist
author/journalist


Ruth has an essay here
called
The Informer: The Life and Art of Liam O'Flaherty

KILLING THE EMPERORS

Paperback cover of Killing the Emperors by Ruth Dudley Edwards

Get the audio version of Killing The Emperors

Also published as an
Audio Book
in 2013 by Chivers

Publishers' blurb

Lady (Jack) Troutbeck is missing. So is celebrity curator Sir Henry Fortune and his partner in love and money, louche art dealer Jason Pringle. But panic doesn't begin in the London art world until no one can locate Anastasia Holliday, sensational abject artist; Jake Thorogood, the critic who catapulted her into stardom; or Dr. Hortense Wilde, notorious for having influenced generations of art students to despise craftsmanship. Are these fashionable adopters of conceptual art hostages? If so, why? Ransom? Revenge?

Who will be next? Will it be Sir Nicholas Serota, mighty overlord of British temples of the avant garde? The internationally renowned Young British Artist Damien Hirst, whose dross became platinum? Is Charles Saatchi, mega-rich husband of TV cook and the genius who took talentless young people and turned them into a winning brand, in danger? When news comes of a New York disappearance, the fears of the art establishment go transatlantic.

But why is Baroness Troutbeck a target? After all, Jack is a standard bearer of conservative values in education and art who recently publicly described admirers of conceptual art as knaves and fools.

Can Jack's friends rescue her before her own worst fantasies are turned into reality and she becomes the next horrifying "hommage murder" satirizing notorious works of art?

Praise for Killing the Emperors:

Fans of Damien Hirst and Tracey Emin are advised to steer clear of this book but those of us who believe that real art has nothing to do with pickled sharks or unmade beds will cheer every page of an exhilarating read.
Daily Mail

Killing the Emperors is a seriously funny satire on the modern art industry. [Ruth] is always right on the button.'
Frances Fyfield, author of Blood from Stone

'A mad oligarch, murderous Albanians, the SAS, a Big Brother parody, all wrapped up in a severe kicking for "conceptual" art. If your name's Serota, Saatchi, Emin or Hirst, look away now.'
Sir Terry Wogan

'[Ruth Dudley Edwards'] crime fiction usually takes the form of bludgeoning to death one of the sacred cows of contemporary life. The series has several recurring characters, but the bludgeon tends to be wielded most ruthlessly by Baroness Troutbeck... Here Troutbeck turns on modern art: in particular, she charges an unholy coterie of commercially astute artists, gallerists, critics, curators and academics with glorifying derivative and inept work and colluding to drive up its value to levels that are frankly obscene. She names names with gleeful abandon. The plot serves as an entertaining vehicle for a polemic against the abuses of modern art, which is all the more effective for quoting facts and figures. Meanwhile the story deals with murder, mass kidnapping and a particularly sinister variant of Big Brother, designed for an audience of one (a Russian oligarch with unusual mental health issues). The novel is also very funny and should be required reading in the nation’s art colleges, not to mention for Damien Hirst, Tracey Emin, Charles Saatchi and Sir Nicholas Serota (or, as Lady Troutbeck prefers, Sclerota).'
The Spectator

'The latest in a comic crime series, which has, over the years, delivered hefty slaps to the rumps of various sacred cows. Here, [Ruth Dudley Edwards] takes a swipe at the world of conceptual art, with her heroine, the magnificently monstrous reactionary libertarian Baroness "Jack" Troutbeck, on splendidly splenetic form.'
Guardian

'The plot moves seamlessly from the sublime to the ridiculously sublime...There are some great jokes in this book and even if the targets are not that difficult to hit for a satirist of Ruth’s standing, one is left in no doubt that this is a subject close to her heart and one she has been seething about for several years.'
Mike Ripley, Shots Magazine

'A raucous send-up of the art world’s collectors, critics, curators and especially those postmodernists who call themselves artists... Imagine "And Then There Were None" written with wicked humour and a major grievance about money, not taste, ruling the art world.'
Kirkus Reviews

'[Had me] shamelessly laughing out loud... There are few writers around who are inspired to make heinous crime into comedy, but Ruth Dudley Edwards has achieved her goal precisely. In addition to crafting a brilliant plot there is no restraint when it comes to naming and shaming those who, conceptually or otherwise, wish to deceive and make millions of pounds along the way...Killing The Emperors by Ruth Dudley Edwards gets a full five stars from me!'
Concert News Online

Kirkus

Fiction in Brief

Daily Mail (third review down)

Shortlisted for two awards at CrimeFest 2013.

Read about the Last Laugh award on the Examiner.

Ruth on CrimeTime.

Ruth comments on the Turner Exhibition in Londonderry

 

NEW RELEASE:

Killing the Emperors

Killing The Emperors: UK paperback edition published in July 2013 by Allison & Busby. Published in 2012 in the US by Poisoned Pen Press; published in the UK by Allison & Busby.

All Ruth's fiction is now back in print.


Ruth at Poisoned Pen Bookshop in Arizona, run by her editor, Barbara Peters, who is married to her publisher at Poisoned Pen, Rob Rosenwald.

‘This blithe series puts itself on the side of the angels by merrily, and staunchly, subverting every tenet of political correctness.’
Patricia Craig in The Independent
All novels, except Murdering Americans, are available in BBC Audio Books, read by the brilliant Bill Wallis.

SEARCH THIS SITE: 

Custom Search

 
© 2003–2017
Ruth Dudley Edwards
back to previous go to home page send an email to Ruth